Writing Again After Months Away

Dear Readers,

It’s been quite awhile since my last blog. A lot has happened since then. We have been looking for a new home for several months (to own, not rent, as my husband and I have been doing for the first 13 years of our marriage), and I was starting to think it was never going to happen. In this economy and in this city, finding an affordable home seemed like a pipe dream. But thanks to God’s amazing provision we not only were able to afford our own home, but it turned out to be the home of our dreams. We moved into a condo with lots of light, a lovely balcony (which I promptly turned into my patio garden), amazing neighbours, easy access to the transit for my job and even a heated outdoor pool within steps of our place. We have been truly blessed. I also found a new job (or they found me) which I started March 20. We moved into our place April 20. What a whirlwind those first few months were! I barely wrote anything on my books in that time. Now, I’ve been able to start writing again but have been super busy with other things and this blog has been allowed to slide. My apologies. Part of me wanted to have something super exciting to share like the previous vacations, but I am starting to realize that I need to write more about the everyday, wonderful and not so wonderful things in my life. I used to keep a journal and wrote nearly every day. Now that I’m busy with my new job, our new place and my side business with Jamberry (you can see this awesome business here: www.amyvirgin.jamberry.com/en.ca) I have to remember that there are people who actually read my blog and would like to hear what I’ve been up to.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to. I started a new job as office manager for a dental clinic four days a week, I have a new three bedroom condo which means my husband has a home office and we have the space to have company, and I’m actually looking forward to the winter because it will be the first year we don’t have to shovel the snow or clean off the car because we now park underground. I have a pool to look forward to at the end of a long day, I am making friends in the complex, my daughter is making friends and every morning I get to listen to bird song and watch my plants grow as a cool breeze envelopes me through the screen door while I sit at my dining room table and eat breakfast. I have come up with new story ideas and been able to add things to current stories. The new atmosphere, new job, new life…have all helped so that I’m writing more than ever before.

I can’t say I’m really done any one book, as right now I have about three books going (and am thinking I really need to complete at least one of those) but I am enjoying writing again. For awhile after our last vacation I was so stressed with home life (issues with our landlord and starting to get really depressed living in a basement) and work that I didn’t know what to do with myself. Now I actually enjoy my job and look forward to coming home each day instead of dreading going underground and making dinner after working until 7 or 8 some nights. Life has definitely improved.

This summer my daughter went to her second week of overnight camp, she took a week of Pedalheads and is now eager to ride her bike (it was like pulling teeth previous to Pedalheads because she just didn’t have the confidence), and I have been able to spend a bit more time with both my husband and daughter.

Things are definitely looking up. Yes, there’s still piles of laundry that wait until the weekend, there’s still dishes to wash and floors to sweep and mop and meals to cook, but for the first time I’m okay with it. What a difference owning our own home makes. And what a nice home!  Sometimes, after my daughter has gone to sleep and the house is quiet, I’ll pad out to the balcony on bare feet and sit on the couch or look out over the complex and just think, “What did I ever do to be so blessed?” The peacefulness of a home on the second floor, with amazing landscaping and a great patio garden is something I hope I get to enjoy for a long time. I try to remember to thank God for His blessings every day, even when life isn’t as peachy as I’d like. What can I honestly complain about?

I have access to a heated outdoor pool, every shop and grocery store I could need within walking distance, a brand new library just down the street and even a Cineplex movie theatre just 20 minutes walk away. Everything I need is within walking distance, except for my job and my daughter’s school, and it only takes me about 20 mins by bus to get to work and soon my daughter will be able to go to school and back in about that time.

The only down side (and I am slowly learning to go to bed earlier to make up for it) is how little sleep I get during the week since I wake up at 6 am. But seriously, I can cope. A lot of people work more days and have less sleep than me. I just have to be more adult and not stay up so late. Life really is great right now.

So, sorry I haven’t written in awhile, but I will try to do more writing soon. Now, I have to go get some work done and maybe write a bit more of one of my many books. Tomorrow I’m hoping to take my Bunny to see Despicable Me 3.

Until next time,

Keep dreaming and never give up!

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

