Florida Vacation Day 12

 

Hard to believe it’s been over two weeks since I wrote the following in Word to be saved and finally posted on my blog. Yesterday in Toronto we had freezing rain. The day I write about here was warm enough to go around in nothing but a towel and swimsuit. Sure missing Florida right about now.  Well, enjoy.

Dear Readers,

This evening as I recap the day, I feel much more refreshed and relaxed. Today the weather was perfect. The whole day was pretty good. I awoke to my daughter coming onto the bed for a cuddle then we both went back to the pull out couch and watched Teen Titans and The Lion Guard for a bit. Then we watched one episode of Tom & Jerry before we got up to make breakfast at about nine. After breakfast it was time to put on our swimsuits and head on over to the Recreation Pool or Big Kahuna pool which is a well heated pool with the deepest part being only 4 feet, a splash area and a nice big deck with plenty of shady and non shady spots with green, comfortable loungers. We enjoyed the morning together, my daughter, mother in-law, father in-law and I while my husband rested his feet at the condo after getting major blisters the past two days.

After a yummy lunch of pepperoni pizza, we all headed back to the pool for a pool party hosted by the resort. There was a hula hoop competition, dancing, and a game called Majority Rules. We ended up winning that and once again, got a free pizza. This time though, we gave it to the runners up since we have so much other food to eat up before we leave Florida on Saturday.

It is now just after 10 and I have made lunches, finished washing, drying and folding the laundry and am pretty ready to turn in myself. An early night might do me good. I don’t know how I’m ever going to return to normal life with its dishes, laundry, part time job, running the household…but I’ll do it. And I will hold all these precious memories to my heart. We’ve spent a ton of time together as a family these past two weeks and it’s been very special. I’m looking forward to going home and telling our friends and family all about it.

We also got a coupon for free mini-golf for four and since my husband wanted to rest his feet, the rest of us went. It was a pretty fun 18 hole course. I didn’t win but boy did we all have fun. It was getting late by the time we finished, so we rushed back to the condo for tacos and then did some FaceTime with family back in Toronto. After that my husband, daughter and I headed to one of the many gift stores on the strip and my daughter bought a Minnie Mouse touque and a small stuffed Marie the Cat from Aristocats with the money she had been saving up from chores.  Well, tomorrow is Epcot, so I’ll say goodnight for now.

Until next time, keep dreaming and never give up.

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

