Florida Vacation Day 8

Dear Readers,

Today I got to sleep in a little, then my daughter came to my room and asked if she could watch TV. So, I got out of bed and crawled onto the pull out couch where I half dozed while she watched Finding Nemo and snippets of Teen Titans because they have Disney Channel in Florida, included in the price of staying our lovely resort. And it is a really nice resort. There are six heated pools throughout a really large acreage. There is a huge recreation pavilion with board games, puzzles, a couple nice lounges and a room where kids can play video games on large tv’s, but of course, we won’t be using that particular amenity.

After snuggling and snoozing, we all got up and my daughter went with her dad down to the recreation pavilion where they were supposed to participate in a game called the Amazing Chase where they run all over the grounds finding clues and eventually get a prize.  Except, no one else showed up, so they won the prize just for participating. A coupon for a free large pizza in the local restaurant. If course, I didn’t know this until after I went shopping with my in-laws and came back with an extra large pizza from Aldi’s. On the way back, we stopped at a fruit stand and got a small pint of fresh Florida strawberries to take back to the resort. Those were met with happy faces all around in our group. We also saw grove after grove of orange trees heavy with fruit. What would it be like to have an orange tree? Amazing I bet.

After a late lunch, I joined my daughter at the clubhouse pool where we played Family Trivia and much to my amazement, our little group won. And what did we win? A little bag of candy which included tootsies rolls, rockets and sugar sticks, as well as a squishy rubber toy and get this…another coupon for a large pizza! So…we’re going to be eating a LOT of pizza this week.

Well, it’s getting late and I am going to bed so I won’t be exhausted before we even get started. Hoping to write about tomorrow in the evening. My daughter is asleep on my bed and soon my husband will transport her to the couch so hopefully we all get a good night’s sleep. More tomorrow!

Until next time, keep dreaming and never give up.

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

