Florida Vacation, Day 1

So, after a twenty hour drive over two days (12 on the first day, 8 on the second) we awoke this morning to a beautiful, sunny and slightly cold day in Cocoa Beach, Florida. By our calculations, it has been about 13 degrees celcius all day but with the wind it has felt closer to 8 or 9. No matter though. We’re Canadians and used to anywhere between 15 and 20 below in January. So, we went to the beach where the seagulls looked sad and the wind tried to blow us backwards. Of course, I got some nice pics. My favourite has to be the thin trail of sand blowing over the hard packed sand after the tide went out. The effect…well, you’ll see. Most spectacular.

 

Almost looks like waves on a calm sea. I’ve never come across this phenomenon, so I snapped a couple quick pics. Here are the waves and seagulls:

Poor, sad seagulls. I felt so bad for them as they looked so cold! So, we lasted about five minutes, maybe ten as we pushed through the wind.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA Pretty soon though, my daughter’s feet were cold an the wind was just too much. So, we decided to head back to our resort and on the way stopped for a couple pictures of some Bird of Paradise flowers as well as the traditional hugging of the palm tree.

The tree hugging was for my mom. She always says, “When you go somewhere tropical, hug a palm tree for me.” So, we did. And I think my kid hugging a palm tree is just too cute to resist too.

After our hike to the beach, we came back to the pool, had a long swim followed by a relaxing time in the hot tub and had a late lunch. This is the view of everything from our balcony. Not too shabby.

After our swim, my daughter went with her Grandma to the play place with slides and climbing ladders for about half an hour, then we all (my mother in-law, my father in-law, daughter and I) played a round of mini golf. Surprisingly, I came in second. My daughter beat her grandmother by one point. It was windy and one hole was wet, with an unintentional water trap, so it was quite challenging.

After the game I intended to go to a movie at the on site movie theatre but it turned out I mixed up the schedule, so here I am, finishing off today’s blog before we start to make dinner. Even though we started the day late (we didn’t get on our way to the beach until almost 11am) it’s been a busy, fun day. The weather should still be chilly tomorrow, so we may go to the Ron Jon Surf Shop to see if they still have the shark tank. The sun is starting to set on our first amazing day here and I am quite enjoying relaxing at last. It’s so nice to skip two weeks of winter here in Florida. Very excited about next week, but also very grateful for a week to just relax and enjoy the blessing of our resort.

Until next time, keep dreaming and never give up.

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

