A Lazy Summer Weekend

August 21, 2016

This past weekend has been refreshing and a wonderful way to enjoy summer. Though it was sticky and hot on Friday, we enjoyed a cool breeze by the evening and the shade under the huge Maple trees in my parents’ back yard in the country, has been lovely.  On Saturday my mom, daughter and myself took a half hour swim in the community outdoor pool, then had lunch at my sister’s place (she’s about a five to ten minute drive away from my parents and also has a nice patch of land) and took a very long swim in her pool. It was cold to get in, but the air was so hot and sticky that it wasn’t hard to stay in for a good four hours with my daughter and nephew. Later my mom and sister joined us for a bit and we all got refreshingly cool.

It’s always such a blessing to get out of the city and go spend a couple days in the country with my parents, sister, brother in-law, nephews, niece and my daughter. Even as I write this I can hear a peaceful, delightful swishing of the leaves of so many trees being rustled by wind that has (for now at least) blown away the humidity. I’m sitting on the deck, just reveling in this moment of peace and beauty created by a God who obviously loves variety.

He could have made one kind of green, yet as I gaze upon the trees growing in the ravine between my parents’ house and their neighbours I see dark green, yellow green, even greenish silver.

066

My parents have a wonderful, big garden and though the peas and beans are done for the summer, there are still tons and tons of tomatoes, ranging in colour from pale green to yellow to dark red. God could have made one kind of tomato but He decided to make so many different kinds. There are large tomatoes in the garden, some that are actually dark pink, cherry tomatoes and even some yellow tomatoes shaped exactly like pears.

I could go on and on about God and His love of variety from insects to plants, to animals, to people. And the pure enjoyment I am having as I make new discoveries has also made this a wonderful vacation.

Last night I watched a program with my parents and daughter and learned about an animal called a pengallon. I’ve never heard of it and don’t even know if I spelled it right, but it’s quite the funny, adorable little mammal. (Just looked it up now that I’m home and discovered it’s spelled Pangolin. Below is a Pangolin, a kind of anteater.Pangolin

Pangolin_drinking

Pangolin baby

Mama Pangolin and baby Pangolin

There you go. You just learned about a rare animal I bet you never knew existed, just by reading my blog. 😉

After learning about this rare and wonderful creature I went to bed. It was hot in the house but to save on air conditioning and because it was tolerable, all the windows were opened so we could take advantage of the lovely cool breezes that came before the rain. So, my daughter and I lay in our beds in the guest room and listened to the night sounds from the comfort of the house. It was lovely. We could hear the wind, frogs, crickets and a lot of other night creatures I rarely get to hear in the city limits due to car noise or just having the windows closed. What a blessing to listen to God’s lullaby as we drifted off.

And Friday night there was a bright, nearly full moon, so bright that we didn’t need my daughter’s night light. Just the light from the moon was enough. As I am writing I can feel and hear the wind picking up. I can see the clouds gathering and hope that means rain. It has been a very dry summer, so we could stand some rainy days to help the farmers out and provide fresh water.

I feel such a peace and my soul is free to relax, away from the busy life I lead in the city, for a couple days at least. And the freedom to just sit outside and write in the breeze is a gift in itself. I am infinitely blessed, sitting here surrounded by such beauty as the wind tosses my hair.

Well, I mentioned tomatoes earlier and my mom offered some for me to take home, so I better get picking. If those clouds do start to drop rain I don’t really want to get caught in it. Maybe later I’ll take a nap in one of the hammocks. 😉

067

Until next time, keep dreaming and never give up!

Amy McGuire

 

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

