Spring Has Arrived!

images

Yes. I am aware the official first day of spring happened in March, according to the calendar. It wasn’t what I’d consider spring though. Today. This was my first day of spring. I spent the morning walking with my daughter down the street, pointing out all the robins, looking into other people’s gardens to see which flowers have popped up, and by the time we turned around, I was taking my jacket off and leaving it off. I pushed her on the swings without gloves or a hat on and not only were my hands not cold…they were actually warm! Late morning and then after lunch were spent (again, coatless, hatless and gloveless) in my backyard raking leaves and getting my backyard and deck summer ready. My daughter’s friends stopped by just after lunch and have been here ever since. And as she plays Shopkins with her friends in the sunshine and I have the door open, with screen closed (the one leading from my bedroom to the backyard where I can see and hear three little girls enjoying themselves as I type) I am breathing in the freshest spring air possible. The sun is out and warm. The sky is blue and the breeze is cool but not freezing. Spring has truly arrived! It makes me happy, all this spring finally arriving. The weatherperson is predicting double digits all this week, my boss just informed me that I have my weekends back into the foreseeable future and my hours have increased at work, though not my days. This means, same amount of time with my family and the chance to go away on a weekend without having to switch around shifts with my co-workers. Oh, and a bit more money. Everything is turning out more amazing than I could ever have believed. And I have God to thank for every little thing.

He has orchestrated things so that I can actually spend more time with my family (no more commuting to the other office). I was called in for training tomorrow. This could have been an issue before, since I was supposed to take my daughter and parents to the zoo tomorrow. And then my parents had to cancel due to some other plans. So, it’s all working out. And I don’t even know why I’m sharing this with you, except that, I like to share happy times in my life as well as the sad or difficult. And let’s face it. I love to write.  Anyone who has read my first three novels will be able to tell rather quickly that I am ‘addicted to the written word’ as Drew Barrymore’s character, Danielle De Barbarack said in one of my favourite movies, Ever After. I am addicted to well written novels and addicted to writing them. Hmm. That sounds arrogant. Oh well. Not going to go back and change it.

Anyway, my daughter asked me today when I’m going to be done my fourth novel. I didn’t have an answer for her. Sadly, with my job and life in general, my book has taken a bit of a back seat. But I am still writing it. Rest assured, it is still in process. As soon as it’s available for purchase, there will be a huge announcement. And maybe a party. Yeah. A party would be good after how long it’s taken to get this latest novel off the ground.

Anyway, I hope you are all able to enjoy this warm spring weather. Make memories. Soak up the warmth and the colour. Spring has finally arrived!

Until next time,

Keep dreaming and never give up.

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

