A New Year Full of Possibilities

Hello to my dear readers! January is almost half over and a couple days ago the snow started to really fall. No super cold winds, fortunately. Lots of snow though. And snow makes me want to hibernate and maybe not come out until sometime late April. Fortunately, I have a daughter who loves tobogganing, snowball fights, making snowmen and snow angels and generally loves winter. Because of her, I can appreciate winter for what it is. It’s a time for less busy-ness outside in my garden or taking weeds out of the patio stones. It’s a time where you feel like cuddling up with a good book to read (or in my case, write) and think about all the fun one can have in snow when one isn’t trudging through it as it turns to slush. The best snows, in my opinion, are in the country. I love watching it pile up out among the trees and fields. It makes me think of story lines I could put in future books. Possibilities.

Possibilities. That’s what this year is giving me. I know there are many interesting things to look forward to in 2016. In 2016 I will celebrate 12 years with my incredible husband. I will celebrate my daughter’s 8th birthday. I will (hopefully) get my fourth book published and then start work on the fifth, or go back and try to complete a stand alone book with a familiar character (see my book page – Collateral Damage) so that his story finally sees the light of day. Today I did my Wii Cardio workout and sweat like crazy. I felt my heart rate increase and knew that I can beat this high blood pressure if I just try. After the workout, I felt strong, and ready to take on anything. I haven’t felt that way in a long time. Sure, I feel sore, because I am very out of shape, and I know I’m going to feel it in the morning. But will I get back on the wagon and try again in two days time? You betcha.

Now, anyone who knows me well, may know me as the opposite kind of person from the one you are reading about today. I tend to be very negative and give up easily. Well, this year I resolve (my one actual resolution for the new year) to see the bright side of things. But I’m also not doing this alone. I recently joined a group of awesome women in a private group on Facebook. It’s a group where we all spur each other onto greatness, with a few ‘adventures’ thrown into the mix. This month’s kick starter (not to be confused with the website) was the rather daunting task of writing down our dreams for the next 6 months and 12 months and how we’re going to implement them. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that all my 6 month goals require no money at all!

What are some of my goals, you may ask? Well, one is to lose weight. And not to beat myself up when it doesn’t come off fast. I even modified the original dream a bit to say, I want to get over the pain of my back and neck injury and I want to get my high blood pressure down without medication. Another goal was to finally get my fourth book published, so all my readers who have been waiting so patiently can finally read Evelyn Walker’s story. It’s been a slow go, but I’m hoping that, with it as a dream written down (we don’t call them goals, because that sounds very daunting), it’s something I will be able to do. But again, I can’t do it alone. This group of awesome women coming together and strengthening each other and pushing each other…this is a blessing.

Oh. Another dream…to do a blog post per week. Even if it’s nowhere as long (or as rambling – sorry guys!) as this, it’s still going to exist. I want to share my thoughts, my daily ramblings and any new books in the works with you all. I want to be transparent and have you all get to know me a little better. To that end, I am inviting anyone who hasn’t become part of my book group to join me here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/114804801984584/ and visit my page here: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmyMcGuire so we can have a good chat. Feel free to ask me questions about my books, my characters, what makes me tick. I am dying to get to know you all!

As I said at the beginning, this is a year full of possibilities. Looking forward to exploring them with you all!

Until next time,

Keep dreaming and never give up.

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

