Last full day in Powell River

Thursday, August 20, 2015 (5:52pm)

Dear readers,

Today we relaxed around the house and visited because my sister and brother in-law and their kids were leaving on the afternoon ferry. After they caught the ferry, those of us left behind took a trip to the sea wall where we saw some really neat totem poles

and a sea lion far off.

After the sea wall we went down to Willingdon Beach, also referred to as Popeye Beach because of the sculptures.

The kids played on the monkey bars for a bit, then we all walked down to the end of the pier. There we saw a few rockfish, a moon jellyfish, and a rust coloured, large jellyfish that my cousin’s son tried to lift with a stick.

I have really enjoyed watching my daughter bond with her B.C. cousins. My cousin’s son is eleven years old and really good with kids. My daughter has really enjoyed spending time with him and his thirteen year-old sister. My daughter says it’s like having a brother and sister but they’re less annoying than the real thing. That made me laugh and apparently amused her cousins too. When my niece and nephews were here, all six kids were inseparable. What a joy to watch them all hanging out like a big group of brothers and sisters.

It’s almost dinner time, so I’m going to sign off soon. Just want to write about one more thing we did before we came back to my aunt and uncle’s house. There is a little tourist shop in Powell River called Paperworks. My daughter got a little bear and fish figurine with her own money and my husband bought locally made blackberry jam as souvenirs and I picked up wild blackberry soap for my co-worker.

Tonight, after dinner we’re all hoping to go out and swim in Loon Lake again. Tomorrow, late in the morning my husband, brother, daughter and I will have to catch our ferry and the thought of leaving all my family here makes my heart ache. I have always hated goodbyes, so I’m going to try not to think about it until then. I have gotten so much inspiration for Love’s Point of View and the fifth book in the Hope Valley Saga (title to be announced along with the cover when it’s ready), on this trip. and tons and tons of pictures for reference.

I’ll sign off for now. Big, busy day tomorrow.

Until later,

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

