Khartoum Lake

Tuesday, August 18, 2015 (10:42pm)

Dear readers,

This morning at 10:30 all my family piled into cars and my Uncle Bob’s jeep and drove about an hour up into the mountains to Khartoum Lake. There we splashed around in the shallows and the kids took a home made raft made of logs out into the deeper water. There was a raft high up on the rocks that had been put there when the water level was much higher, and it was very entertaining watching the men of the family try to get it down to the water’s edge.

I got some great pictures and video clips of the whole thing. After everyone sweating and struggling with the heavy raft, the guys decided to give up and go for a swim.

We were there for most of the day and enjoyed a small cookout…until the wasps arrived. Darn beasties decided they wanted our food and wouldn’t leave us alone. Cooking hot dogs was almost impossible with them buzzing about, landing in our food and being a general nuisance. I got a sting on my ankle, my cousin was stung and my mom got stung twice. I ended up eating my partially cooked hot dogs without condiments because I didn’t dare open the cooler bag. Any thought of roasting marshmallows went out the window when I realized just how persistent the wasps were. Actually, more accurately, I guess they were hornets. Yellow jackets to be exact. Fortunately, down the hill toward the water they didn’t seem to follow us, so at least we had a haven from them there. At least they were the only unpleasant part of the day.

We got to see and hear grasshoppers flying around, catch minnows in my daughter’s fishing net (well, mostly the younger cousins did that) and try to catch frogs that were hanging out by the water’s edge. At one point I got a chance to float on my back and just relax while everyone hung out onshore, talking and laughing and having a great time. It’s been so nice to be around my extended family in B.C. the past few days and I think I have laughed more than I have in a long time. The weather has been perfect too; not too hot and not too cold. The water has been cold, but the sun has always been just hot enough to make we want to go in anyway. My daughter especially had fun hanging out with her cousins on their makeshift raft and practicing her swimming.

I guess it has been hot at times, but never humid. Which is quite different from Ontario where the humidity can seem to suck the life out of you, even on a cloudy day. Khartoum Lake was a lot different this year than I remember, mostly because the water level has dropped so much. Apparently B.C. has been going through a drought this summer, so all the lakes are lower than normal.

This evening we all had a fantastic spaghetti dinner at my Aunt Jean and Uncle Bob’s house and had a lovely visit. I also had blackberry pie, and the first bite took me back fifteen years.

There really isn’t any flavour quite like it.

Well, it is late again and I’m feeling sleepy, so I will sign off for now.

Until later,

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

