Blackberries, black cat, cedars and Gibson’s Beach

Dear readers,

I apologize for not inputting all of the entries for our vacation yet. I recently came down with a head cold which has thrown me for a loop. I’ve basically slept for a day, struggled through a full day of work and then slept again. Today I feel a bit better, though I am not venturing far from the bed, as, when I do, dizzy spells seem to come at the weirdest times. Since my head is not nearly as fuzzy as it was the past couple days, I am now attempting to catch up on all the blog posts. So, without further ado, August 17.

Dear readers,

B.C. in August is very temperate as far as I can see. This morning I went for a walk down the road near my Auntie Jeanie and Uncle Bob’s house, taking pictures of blackberry brambles, a Norfolk cedar, a beautiful Rowan tree and of course, my Auntie Jeanie and Uncle Bob’s house.

I also got pictures of the amazing view of the ocean and mountains and acres of cedar trees.

While wandering along the road, I spotted a beautiful black cat, but it was too far away so that by the time I was close enough to pet it, it had wandered off.

Last night we had a lovely meal in my Aunt Jean and Uncle Bob’s backyard with all the cousins, aunts and uncles. Then I put a very tired little girl to bed. The weather has been wonderful ever since Saturday afternoon. The breeze is refreshing and the sun never feels overbearing. I haven’t been here in almost fifteen years and had forgotten just how much I love this place. I want to keep track of the smells (cedar, blackberries, fish oil and the pleasant tang of the sea air), the tastes (fully ripe plums right off my aunt and uncle’s tree with juice that runs down your chin, blackberries tangy and sweet), the feelings (cool breezes, warm sun that is so comforting like an old friend), the sounds (woodpeckers, crows, seagulls and several birds I would have to get pictures of before I even know what they are) and the sights (the crystal, dark blue ocean with white caps and the brown and green mountains that would take your breath away, even at a distance. And those same mountains, so tall you can actually see snow at the top, even in the height of summer). Well, it’s time to sign off now because some of my cousins are going shopping and I have a couple things I want to pick up.

Until later,

Amy McGuire

August 17, 2015 (10:09pm)

Dear readers,

My aunt and uncle’s house is quiet except for the ticking of the clock in the upstairs hall and cars in the street a little ways down toward the ocean, which I can hear because the living room window is open. So, here I sit, recapping a very fun day, as inspiration for one of my novels also takes hold of me. This will be the first night since we arrived that everyone has turned in early except me, and I have the living room to myself. It’s wonderful to be surrounded by my amazing extended family all day, but it’s equally wonderful to sit quietly and write alone as a cool breeze ruffles the blinds. It’s so peaceful that if I didn’t have so much to write, I might be tempted to fall asleep.

But, I have a day to recount, so sleep will wait. I had such a wonderful time at Gibson’s Beach near Sliammon, right on the Pacific Ocean. This morning we ran a few errands, where I got a small fishing net for my daughter and stocked up on gum for our return flight. After lunch the whole crew of us climbed into cars and made our way out of town to Gibson’s Beach where we checked out the tide pools and waded.

At one point, as I was picking my way over the rocks in knee high water, I lost my footing on a slippery rock and fell right back into a patch that was rock free. Of course my feet went over my head and what I had been trying to avoid (getting too wet since the water was quite cold) happened anyway since I was then fully soaked. I couldn’t help but laugh at the absurdity of it all. Because the rocks were so slippery, I ended up half swimming, half crawling over the barnacle covered rocks to try and get back to shore. In the process I scratched up both my legs and when I stepped out of the water there was bright red blood dripping down my legs. Fortunately, after a rinse with salt water they stopped bleeding, but they still stung for a little while. I wasn’t the only one who got scratched up by the barnacles. My twelve year-old niece also looked like she had battled it out with a knee high monster.

The weather was perfect today, and on the way home from dinner at my other aunt and uncle’s house we saw a breathtakingly beautiful sunset. Of course, by this time the batteries in my camera had died. In fact, the message I got on my view-screen said, “Batteries exhausted”, which I found pretty funny. The kids had a blast at the beach today, climbing around on the rocks, splashing in the tide pools, kicking around a ball and at the end of the day, having a mud fight in the water. I enjoyed watching them for quite awhile before taking a small nap in a folding chair. Earlier, I had helped my mom pick some blackberries which were growing right along the side of the bluffs behind us.

My daughter found crabs  and minnows in a tide pool, then her Grammi helped her catch a dark purple starfish.

It was such an amazing time. I’m having trouble keeping my eyes open now, so I’m going to turn in, but I’ll be writing more tomorrow for sure.

Until then,

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

