McGuire Family Epic BC Vacation

Dear loyal readers,

A week ago my family and I got back from one of the best and most memorable vacations ever. Of course, I took lots of pictures (which you will be treated to in each post as they are relevant) and while we were away, I blogged in my diary. That is to say, I didn’t want to waste a precious moment of the time we had in BC blogging, so I wrote everything in a diary to be entered at a more opportune time. Hard to believe we actually hopped on a plane just a little over two weeks ago to go visit family we had not seen in 15 years. Well, it was fantastic! Without further ado, I give you blog post number one.  Hope you enjoy the post and all the pictures of this amazing province.

Friday, August 14, 2015

Well, today is the first day of the McGuire family’s adventure to British Columbia. My daughter, who is seven, has never flown before, so this is a very exciting trip for her. IMAG0461And as if that wasn’t exciting enough, I mentioned to the Air Canada steward that this was her first time flying, he said that when we land in Edmonton, she can go up to the cockpit, meet the pilot and see all the instruments. You better believe that’s a memory she’ll cherish forever. She also got “wings” as a junior stewardess (two stickers with Air Canada wings on them to wear on her shirt). How much fun is that? So, here I sit on a plane between my daughter and brother with my hubby behind us, feeling spoiled as I listen to Annie Lennox, my daughter watching Jungle Book beside me and I have nowhere else to be. Just letting the pilot take me on a journey to Powell River, B.C. So, book writing time! This trip will be a bit like my the Florida/Bahamas cruise trip my hubby and I took in January, in that you, my readers get to read about and see pictures of our grand vacation.

I feel truly blessed to be taking such awesome vacations all in the same year. The cruise was a on my once in a lifetime trip to celebrate eleven years of marriage, and this trip is a family reunion with my B.C. family to celebrate my parents’ 45th wedding anniversary. A whole week in B.C.! I’m very excited because it’s been almost fifteen years (would be in September) since I was back in the province of my birth. Anyone who has read my author biography will note that I was born in Campbell River, B.C. I hope to get a chance, maybe on the way back, to see it again. And of course, take pictures. 🙂

I can hardly wait to see my beloved mountains again, and smell the ocean air. And I look forward to showing my little family a place that is a huge part of me. I’m going to pick blackberries with my daughter while waiting for a ferry to take us from Vancouver Island to the mainland. I’m going to show her a sunflower starfish, which is a starfish with a LOT of legs. And yes. When I see one, I’ll take a picture and post it so you know what on earth I’m talking about.

This is the underside of a sunflower starfish.

This is the underside of a sunflower starfish.

I can hardly wait to take my daughter to Popeye Beach and let her climb all over the statues of Popeye, Wimpy riding a whale, Olive Oil and Bluto, just like I did when I was a kid. We’re going to swim in Loon Lake and Khartoum Lake and have hotdogs over a campfire. And we’re going to see family, most of whom have never met my husband or daughter. So much to look forward to! It’s going to be quite a vacation. So far, it looks like we have good weather for the whole week we’ll be there. Well, over the prairies and getting a little turbulence, so my stomach is beginning to feel off. I’ll sign off for now.

My daughter in Olive Oil's lap.

My daughter in Olive Oil’s lap.

She really is excited here. Just tired from being woken at 6:30 so we could get down to the airport in time for our flight.

She really is excited here. Just tired from being woken at 6:30 so we could get down to the airport in time for our flight.

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to McGuire Family Epic BC Vacation

  1. Alana Woods says:

    Your excitement is certainly shining through! 🙂

Leave a Reply

