Orange Trucks, Tanks and Sandy Beaches

Hello from sunny Boca Raton, not far from Fort Lauderdale, Florida! We left a rather chilly Orlando this morning and drove south, stopping at a lovely lake for lunch.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA I just love marshlands, especially in Florida. We saw a few wading birds and found some beautiful flowers that looked a lot like white morning glories. I got lucky enough to catch a ladybug on one before it took off.

 

 

 

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA I have a new camera, courtesy of my in-laws who don’t use it anymore and I am loving the pictures I can take with it. I’m still learning all the settings but I think I’ll be able to get some amazing shots above water with it and hopefully some fantastic shots underwater with the camera I borrowed from my brother in-law. I love being able to tell a story in pictures. For instance, one second later this picture turned into this: KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

And the crazy thing is, I didn’t even see the ladybug until I was reviewing the pictures later on my computer. This new camera is awesome! I have found so much beautiful foliage on this trip, from bouganvillia in lots of colours to flowers I don’t even know the name of, to silver palm trees (hoping to get those on the way out of Boca Raton, since every time I saw one, it was too late to get a picture as we drove by) to the white morning glory-type flowers and of course, odd shaped trees and lots of different palm trees.

Here’s a few pictures for your enjoyment.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

On our way to our resort we saw a lot of trucks filled to the brim with oranges, so finally I decided I’d better get a picture of one. KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA I didn’t know they dumped them into trucks either! Crazy huh?

 

 

 

 

Then we passed a whole row of tanks and helicopters so I had to get a picture of those for my six year old nephew who loves that kind of thing: KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

And shortly after that we passed silver fire hydrants. Yep. Silver:

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA We saw a pink one along the way too but I wasn’t fast enough with my camera. I happened to see this one while we were waiting a light. Two egrets walked down the sidewalk beside our car, but I wasn’t fast enough getting my camera out. Will have to look for more this week.

At last we got to our resort, but we were an hour early for check-in, so my husband and in-laws went grocery shopping while my daughter and I checked out the beach. And what a beach! Can’t wait to go back tomorrow in our swimsuits and wade out to all the sandbars.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I think I have a picture of my feet in the ocean for every year I’ve been to Florida. Couldn’t break tradition, so here’s the one for 2015:

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA So, that was our adventure for today. I didn’t have good Wi-Fi at our last resort, so I didn’t get to post all about Downtown Disney. Next post, coming up!

 

 

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

