Enjoying a Florida Vacation in Orlando

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA It’s our third full day in Kissimmee, right in the middle of all the Disney parks. One major advantage to not going to the parks (which are really expensive!) is that you basically have the resort to yourself until evening when all the tired park hoppers come in and flop down by the pool. Those who don’t go to the parks are usually older people or younger people without kids, so it’s fairly quiet by the pool, no crowds in the hot tub and you have your pick of pools because, again, not a lot of people are in the resort. So, on our first full day here I took this picture of my feet to show me relaxing. It’s probably the only picture you’ll see of me since I’m usually behind the camera. I just wish I’d thought to paint my toenails in some fancy shmancy colour before going barefoot. Anyhoo, (as Buttercream the bunny in The Littlest Pet Shop show would say) that the pool. And yeah, I’ll be posting better pics later in this post, so don’t worry. 🙂

So far we’ve been able to go swimming every day and though it has gotten cloudy it has not rained once. It’s been a good vacation with some of my favourite things: heated saltwater pools, palm trees, warm sun, geckos and seabirds that I think are somehow related to herons.

?????????????????????????????And of course, my favourite thing of all about vacation: my family. I am down here with my mother in-law and father in-law, daughter and (when he arrives by plane tonight) my husband. This is a real family resort with kids crafts every day, poolside music, dancing, bingo, trivia and karaoke.

 

 

 

 

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAKONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA?????????????????????????????KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

We haven’t done karaoke yet but hope to tomorrow night, as my daughter really loves to sing. And seriously, who can resist the opportunity to watch an adorable six year old belt out a Disney tune? This ame six year old also seems to have a little luck in her. We played family bingo at the pool today and she won – twice! Her prizes were a snow cone coupon (for Friday afternoon) and a free arts and crafts session. She chose to do a mickey mouse tie dye shirt and of course, I had to get some pictures of the event, since her Daddy missed out with having to work. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAShe really had fun doing it and the results were a personalized souvenir that she will cherish forever – a fantastic memory of Disney.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ta da! Pink Mickey Mouse logo!

Ta da! Pink Mickey Mouse logo!

Today I got a really interesting picture of a palm tree that my daughter came up with a whole story for. I think it looks like it’s ready for an alien invasion. Either that, or a jousting tournament with a giant.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Really loving vacation so far. And of course, my daughter loves these trees.

?????????????????????????????I will have more to write about our vacation soon and of course, lots of fun pictures. Goodnight for now!

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

