Summer of 2014 in Review

Hello loyal readers, friends and family,

It’s been quite the summer in the McGuire household. Hard to believe tomorrow is the last day. It makes me a bit sad because the wonderful, carefree, warm days of summer will be gone soon. It also makes me smile because we made so many wonderful memories in the short span of time we had. Here in Canada it seems like we have three seasons: Freeze Your Butt Off, Cold and Warm. And sometimes (for a few days this summer and possibly for the month of September) we get a fourth season called Stinking Hot. I think Warm is my favourite but Stinking Hot is where I don’t complain because I remember Freeze Your Butt Off, also known as Winter. So basically, between our weirdly short Summer season and the fact that the kids are only out of school for two months, it’s a short time. 

But man did we make the best of it! My daughter and I have been to the zoo four times so far (I think…might be more but it’s been a crazy summer and I haven’t kept track) and to bid the Summer of 2014 a fond farewell, we’re going back tomorrow.

20140712_170326We’ve been to the Splash Pad also known as KidsTown, not far from our house once. My daughter went to Summer School (which is like Math and Science Camp but way more fun because it’s still play based learning) for four weeks in July, half days.  When I asked her if she’d just like to have the whole summer off next year or go back to Summer School she gave me an enthusiastic response in favour of Summer School.  Go figure.

We went to a Toronto Blue Jays game to celebrate Father’s Day (late because everyone’s schedules were crazy) and got to watch pigeons take over the field.

20140719_120333

 

20140719_205525

And my daughter got to hang out with her ‘Pop’ which was a real highlight.

Four nine days in July my daughter also got swimming lessons for the first time. She did so well and enjoyed it to much that we’re signing her up for the next level this Fall!

20140707_182813 20140707_182805

 

The last week of July was spent at a cottage with my parents, brother, sister and brother in-law, their three kids and my daughter. My husband came up for a day here and there when work allowed.  In one week I went kayaking in my dad’s homemade kayaks three times, got fourteen chapters of Collateral Damage complete, taught my six year old daughter how to play Monopoly (punk would have beat me if she hadn’t been hit the housing tax – she bought property all along where I usually landed and I was one move away from complete bankruptcy in spite of the fact that I owned ALL the Utilities, half the railroads and the two most expensive properties on the board. I think I taught her a little TOO well) and went swimming in Lake Simcoe twice.  What memories we all made.

IMG_7155

With a view like this one, how could I NOT write?

IMG_7167

My view on one of my kayaking days. Inspiration was pouring in!

Every day there were fresh Water Lily flowers on the table, every night we watched a movie or played board games and one night we even had a camp fire and made s’mores.  I love the name s’mores. So appropriate because once you eat one gooey, melty, crunchy s’more, you really want some more. 😀 

IMG_7281

It rained once or twice during our week but it never dampened our spirits. Every other day I went out running with my sister and thirteen year old nephew and being in cottage country, got to see all the lovely homes as we ran.After the cottage, there were a few weeks of ‘back to normal’ where I spent every spare moment away from work with my daughter and watched her run through the sprinkler many times. Over this time she got three loose teeth and lost them all in the space of two weeks while we were down at The Boys JIM Club of America, a boys Christian leadership camp my husband volunteers at every summer.

 

img_7463

Check out that gap toothed smile!

The week at the cottage was my highlight of the summer though. The cousins all had so much fun, there was an awesome park they enjoyed, and there were hikes, swimming…well, take a look at the pictures and tell me it wasn’t a memorable week.

IMG_7162 20140803_151609 IMG_7168 IMG_7172 IMG_7182 IMG_7189 ??????????????????????????????? IMG_7194 IMG_7217 20140802_202218 IMG_7221 IMG_7227 IMG_7242 IMG_7288

Yes. This squirrel IS eating a lollipop.

Yes. This squirrel IS eating a lollipop.

IMG_7228 IMG_7265 IMG_7313 IMG_7353 IMG_7352 IMG_7335 IMG_7312 IMG_7358 IMG_7363 IMG_7372 IMG_7383 And this is just a few pictures of that epic week.

One week later my husband and daughter went down to New York State to the camp my husband volunteers at every summer. I had to work, so I stayed back and had a mini vacation, meaning that, when I wasn’t working, I was writing. And what a wonderful time of writing THAT was! I missed my family, and when I joined them a week later, I was thrilled to see them, but man…I really enjoyed my little writer’s retreat. JIM Club was great though and my daughter really enjoyed being an assistant cook. 😀

IMG_7417

Not that it was ALL work. We had a day at an amusement park too.

IMG_7437 IMG_7439 IMG_7444 IMG_7447 IMG_7453

And we had some free time when I wasn’t working in the kitchen, so we got a lot of playtime in as well as visiting with friends.

IMG_7422 IMG_7433 IMG_7460

Then we had time to dress up too, because there were two special programs while I was there. And of course, my daughter decided it was time to be silly.

IMG_7462 img_7404 img_7403 img_7402

It was quite the summer and though I’m sad it’s over, I’m grateful for all the wonderful memories. Next time though, I’m saving my pennies and getting a new camera! ~L~  Summer of 2014, you’ll be missed. When it’s over thirty below (minus eighty-six for you my American readers) I’ll have these warm memories to get me through.

 

Until next time, keep dreaming and never give up!

Amy McGuire

 

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer of 2014 in Review

  1. Don’t envy the cold winter you have, but your summer sure sounded and looked like fun! Thanks for the pictures!

  2. Pingback: Author Amy McGuire’s Review of 2014 | Author Amy McGuire's Blog

Leave a Reply

