Dusk After A Hard Afternoon At Work

It is dusk outside.  The peaceful time after dawn and just before full night.  Night comes later in the summer and so, the days seem longer.  Today was especially long as I endured a filling of a molar in the far back of my mouth.  It may not have been so bad, except the cavity was very, very deep and so, there was a lot of drilling, filling and whatever else had to be done.  Again, not bad when you’re well frozen, which I was.  The thing that made it difficult, was my TMJ.  TMJ stands for Temperomandibular Joint disorder and is extremely painful.  In extreme cases this can cause headaches, neck pain and even lockjaw which then needs to be treated with muscle relaxants and in very extreme cases, surgery to correct the issue.  In lesser cases, like mine, the pain only occurs when yawning and being forced to hold your mouth open for long periods of time – like I had to do today.

The main problem the dentist and then expanded duty hygienist had, was that the tooth they were working on was so far back and my cheek pressed so tight against it, that they had to put a wedge in my mouth to protect my cheek.  This wedge drove my mouth open, even when I wanted to close it, and we had to take several breaks.  About halfway through I broke down in tears, wondering how I could have ever thought childbirth was bad.  Nope.  This was worse.  At least, for the time I was in it.  The other problem that occurred is that my tongue kept getting in the way because, when you’re in pain, it’s hard to concentrate on keeping your tongue out of the way of the drill etc.  So it was that I received a cut in my cheek and one on my tongue.  Neither needed stitches, but both were unpleasant, to say the least.

So, after a long afternoon (the appointment was at my work where I am a dental receptionist and took almost two hours to complete) I came home to my family.  There were the usual things one must do before getting to rest, such as preparing lunches for tomorrow, throwing the laundry in the washing machine, putting dirty dishes in the dishwasher, cleaning the kitty litter and taking the garbage to the curb for the weekly pickup.  Then it was time to give my six year old a bath, have a bedtime routine and finally, finally have a bath and relax.

Which brings me back to dusk.  Stepping out of the bath and into my kitchen I could hear the wind blowing and decided to open the window.  The wind rushed in, not like a tornado which tries to knock everything over and stir up dust, but as a friend, reaching out to caress my cheek and soothe my soul.  The wind of dusk is relaxing while slightly reminiscent of its more violent cousins – the tornado, hurricane and tsunami.  You know that it could turn into something much faster and possibly deadly but for now it’s the kind of wind that reminds me of moon-kissed beaches, palm trees and ocean waves crashing on the shore.

wind_1295_600x450

It’s the kind of wind that says, “Today is done.  Tomorrow is a fresh day, with no mistakes in it.  Rest now.  Let your body be absorbed into the mattress of your bed and surrounded by your sheets and duvet”.  It’s a wind that reminds me of good times and fills my heart with memories.  It gently heals the pain of the last several hours, as well as the grief of losing a precious furry friend only three days ago.  It’s one of my favourite kinds of wind.  The warm breeze during the day and the cool breeze at night.  Wind is unpredictable and delightful all at once.

Light_breeze

And so, I enjoy the windy dusk and say goodbye to another day.  I hope you all sleep well, my dear readers and friends.

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

