Cover Reveal and Contest Winners!!

Sorry it’s been so long since I last wrote.  After getting Dreams Come True out I kind of crashed for awhile – something I need to do from time to time to recharge my batteries and get new creative juices flowing.  Still coming down from the emotional high of getting my THIRD book out but finally started working on my first ever adult crime novel.  As part of my kickstarter (mostly to just get my butt in gear writing) I started playing around with covers and for fun, put some up on Facebook for my fans in my group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/114804801984584/ and some on one of the Indie Cover Design groups I belong to as well.  I got a lot of good feedback and then people started making comments on how to fix it and I became totally lost.  As most of you know, I’m not a cover designer.  I’m a writer.  And while I dabble with cover art, it’s not what I’m very talented at.  Then, a wonderful woman by the name of Gabrielle Prendergast (you can see her amazing work at http://www.coveryourdreams.net ) gave me an offer I couldn’t refuse.  Let her make it over for her blog as a before and after.  That way she gets to showcase her creative ability, I get a more relevant cover, and we both get some valuable promotions.  So of course, I said yes.  I was so happy with her work that I asked if she would be my new cover designer!  My former designer was extremely talented by the time zone different (12 hours!) was starting to wear us both down, so I decided it was time to start looking for a new designer a few months ago.  I never hit on just the right person until…Gabrielle Prendergrast, cover designer extraordinaire!

 

Okay already, you’re saying.  Show me the before and after!  Well, here’s the before:

Choices Cover Idea 8

And here’s the after:

 

Collateral Damage Final Cover by www.CoverYourDreams.net

The best part of this is I got to keep the elements that made it suit the story but Gabrielle made it just so much more!  The elements I really wanted to keep were the male model, the blue eyes (originally this model had green, but anyone who has read about Damian in The Heart’s Discovery and Dreams Come True know he has blue eyes) and those awesome flames in the background.  I didn’t even know a font existed that matched so closely with the words (especially DAMAGE) but apparently, they do.  Okay, I’m gushing now.  I’m just so excited to finally have a fantastic cover to announce my upcoming book: Collateral Damage (Damian’s Story)

But wait, Amy!  What about the contest winners?  Well, as I said before, my fans got to help me choose the cover and there were a few different colour variations, font variations etc, all set up in an album.  My fans got to comment and say which cover they preferred and even make suggestions on how they think it could be improved.  The cover I went with in the end resulted in those who chose the cover getting a prize!  Well, three in fact.  Winners of the Cover Contest for Collateral Damage received a FREE ebook copy of The Heart’s Discovery, Worlds Apart AND Dreams Come True via Smashwords.

So, if you didn’t get in on that contest because you aren’t a part of my Facebook group, and you’d like to be involved in the creative process that goes into my books, click here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/114804801984584/ and request to join.  All updates on my book are here on my blog and on my Facebook group.

Stay tuned for my next post, which is actually a guest blog post by Joleene Naylor, tomorrow!

Until next time,

Keep dreaming and never give up!

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Book Covers, Contests. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

