My daughter’s big dreams

Image

I have been reading an awesome book called Savvy Stories by Dan Alatorre (review to follow when I’m done) and have been inspired to write a bit about what’s going on in my munchkin’s life.  This year is the 2014 Winter Olympics, happening in Sochi, Russia and my daughter has been facinated by the figure skaters – mainly the pairs skaters.  She told me, after watching one of the events at school, that she wants to grow up to be a figure skater and she is going to be pairs with one of the boys she has a crush on at school.  Of course, this little boy has no clue what my daughter has in store for him and I think his reaction to this news would be the same as when she told him she was going to marry him when they grow up.  (He apparently looked at her in disbelief and said, “What?”)  Anyways, she at least revised her idea that it she would be pairing with her best friend, Zahra.  Though it’s been done, at least in the fiction world with movies such as Blades of Glory, I told her it’s unlikely two women would be able to pull off those tosses and spins. 🙂  Just wait.  I’ll be eating my words in about fifteen years when she’s doing pairs skating to show there is nothing women can’t do as well as men.  Just kidding. I hope.  Anyway, I digress.

So, Vesper has decided she will be a figure skater, and nothing I have said will deter her.  I told her that it’s expensive, long days, early mornings, missed school (maybe shouldn’t have mentioned that since the idea kind of appealed to her) and she has to start as early as now.  She is determined, and I don’t know if this is the direction her life will take for sure (since her last dream was to be a ballerina farmer – no idea how she was going to put the two together) but now my husband and I are looking into skating lessons for her as well as a pair of skates, probably at Play It Again Sports or some place like that.  This is the first I’ve really seen my daughter interested in any sport, and while I don’t know if this is what she’ll want to do tomorrow or the next day, this is what she wants to do today.  It’s fun to listen to her talk about it and see the glow in her eyes as she shares her dream.

What has also been enjoyable, is watching her grow in her reading and music appreciation.  At school she is in a reading group with just one other child because she is so far ahead of the others.  The teacher is actually having trouble challenging my Vesper because she is already reading at a grade one level, even though she’s only in senior kindergarten.  I’m so proud of my pumpkin.  She regularly surprises me by reading something new or a long passage that she has never seen before, without hesitation.  For Valentine’s Day I decided to get her a couple little things and a card.  For the first time ever, I wrote her a few lines and got her a card with a poem of about six lines in it.  The only word she stumbled over was excitement.  Pretty cool.

Her music appreciation is amusing, to say the least.  She has decided she really likes Katy Perry’s ‘Roar’ and sings the chorus of it whenever we’re in the car.  She also recently sat down at the piano in our church during a Wednesday night drop in for my husband’s youth group and plunked out the first line of Mary Had A Little Lamb.  Her brain is like a sponge right now.  It makes me regret a little our decision not to put her in French Immersion, as she would likely excel in languages, but she informed me last semester that she wants to wait.  So we’re letting her.

It’s been so wonderful watching my daughter blossom into this little person with ideas and joys and fears and incredible smarts.  She gives me regular hugs, loves our Girl’s Night every Friday where she and I either stay in to watch a movie or show on Netflix while chowing down on microwave popcorn, or we go out to the movies when there’s a good kid’s film playing, and loves to write stories.  I think she has the makings of a great writer, if she decides later in life that she wants to be one.  Some parents try to live their dreams vicariously through their kids.  Although I see some of the skills already that would make her into a musician, writer or even artist (her drawings are incredibly detailed when she really puts her mind to it) I will sit back and let her make her own way in this.

I am so blessed to be living in a country where I have so many options open to help my daughter fulfill any dream she wants.  The most important thing I hope I teach my daughter though, is how her dreams can help others.  Whatever she does, I want her to keep in mind how it will affect others.  I want my daughter to grow up with the mindset of doing everything she does, to the glory of God and help her fellow man or woman.  It’s been a pleasure watching my little Bunny grow up, and reading books like Dan Alatorre’s was a nice reminder that I wanted to write about before the busy-ness of life gets in the way.

Until next time,

Follow your dreams and never give up!

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My daughter’s big dreams

  1. savvystories says:

    Such kind words. Thank you. Your daughter is lucky to have you for her mom!

Leave a Reply

