Thanksgiving

I have so much to be thankful, and what better time to express my gratitude, than on Thanksgiving Sunday?  First and foremost, I am grateful for my salvation and that of my family.  Knowing we have a better world to look forward to in Heaven after we are done with this one is pretty wonderful.  I am grateful that my grandmother is not suffering as she had been about a week ago, but actually seems to be improving every day.  I am grateful for the time I have had to visit her in hospital and that she has been clear in her mind most of the time.  I am grateful to have my precious cat, Molly, back.  She ran away from my home on Thursday night and we found her Saturday night.  It was the most incredible thing.  Our other cat, Murdock, had escaped the same night but came home, scratching at the door at 4am on Friday.  Since Molly is such a quiet cat, and likes to hide, my husband and I didn’t realize she was missing until Friday night.  We hunted and called, but no answer.  And then, last night, Murdock ran out of the house when I opened the door to look for Molly again.  I raced after him in the dark, figuring he was running away too.  I tripped and fell in the dark, scraping up my right arm and knee and for a moment of weakness, just sat down and cried.  Then I felt a small nudge, telling me not to quit.  I picked myself up, didn’t even bother dusting, and crept the last place I saw him.  I turned on my flashlight and spotted him.  He was hunched up in a kind of dead end area next to a house three doors down from ours.  What was most astonishing was that, to my right, huddled behind some garbage bins, was Molly.  Our Murdock had lead us right to her.  Last night I was so grateful to have Molly and Murdock safely back.  This morning I started to realize a parallel to the Christian life.  Molly is a shy cat, and quite skittish.  She loves attention when she’s around yet won’t allow people to pet her most of the time.  Instead, she runs off and hides.  Now she was doing the same thing, but outside.  She was scared, so she found a place she thought she was safe.  She was just too scared to leave it and come home…even though home was only a few doors away.  It got me thinking about how we, as often frightened humans, think it’s safe to stay right where we are in our daily lives.  And yet, God is reaching out, rescuing us from ourselves.  We aren’t reaching for Him. We think we’re safe and where we are is the best for us, but He knows better.  He knows that there is a warm, wonderful, eternal home, just within reach.  And in His infinite wisdom and love, He’s reaching out to us, rescuing us (if only we will let Him) and calling us to a wonderful life with Him.  Another interesting parallel, was that when I found my cat the first time, I shooed her toward the open doorway of our home.  Instead of going in, where she knew there was warmth, food and water, she doubled back.  And returned to the exact same spot I found her in moments before.  We as humans think we know better than God.  Instead of coming into His Kingdom, where the door is open wide, we double back.  We go back to the same place we were before, because we feel safe there.  We figure that it’s better to be in a place we know, even though it’s all wrong for us, than to risk the unknown.  It was just something that really got me thinking.  I can’t help but smile at such an incredible picture God put before me in the adventure with my two cats.  And knowing that God is ready and waiting to rescue us all, if we’ll only let Him.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends, family and fantastic readers.  May you be thankful for everything, and willing to let God rescue you.  No matter what the perceived risk.  Believe me when I say, it’s totally worth it.

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

