Farewell to Florida

Dear loyal readers,

Tonight will be a short post, as I am supposed to be packing while my family is out enjoying the last few moments they can in our resort near Cocoa Beach, Florida.  I said my goodbyes this afternoon when we went to the beach for the last time and left as the sun was setting.  It’s been a wonderful vacation over all, and while I am not eager to return to the cold and windy Toronto, at least I have these wonderful warm memories to look back on.

At our resort this week I went around on the lazy river at least twice every single day, swam in the pool multiple times, enjoyed the splash pad with my daughter and went in the hot tub every day.  I have enjoyed watching my daughter learn to swim off the stairs in a large, warm swimming pool, played mini golf twice, walked on the beach, made sandcastles, watched dolphins, large turtles, seagulls and pelicans swimming or diving out off the pier, seen two movies in the little theatre in the resort here, been to the fitness area and gotten a great workout, and been on a wonderful date with my husband where we found a lovely new swimsuit for me, followed by a delicious dinner at TGI Fridays. 

I have no regrets from this vacation at all.  The weather this past week has been especially warm, with rain only once, in the evening after we had decided it was time to go inside for dinner.  I have received a much needed dose of rest and relaxation, had a chance to read a lot of books (something I don’t usually do because I have my own to write and edit) and soaked up as much sun as possible without burning.  I have taken multiple pictures and videos and look forward to sharing them with friends and family.  I also plan to go back over them in the bleak days of February and March, to cheer myself up in the darker days.

The sunsets here have been spectacular, the sand alternately cool and warm as well as always soft, and the palm trees have been a lush green. I believe I will miss them most of all.  The past few weeks, trying to get my latest book edited and out to my readers before the end of the year, have been extremely taxing.  This was a much needed rest.  Don’t get me wrong; I love writing and even editing, but sometimes you just need a break.

We leave bright and early tomorrow, to arrive at home late Sunday night.  The very next day my daughter goes back to school and I go back to work.  One thing I really enjoyed this vacation, was how much time I got to spend with her.  Now that she’s in school full time and I work three nine hour days a week, I started to miss her.  This vacation will be a moment I will always cherish, and I am determined to make the moments I have with her count.  She is growing up so fast, and I want to be there for her every moment.  I know I can’t, so a vacation like this is extra special.

Well, like I said, I should be packing while I have some time to do so.  So, until I have a chance to post again, goodnight.

Until next time, keep dreaming and never give up!

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Farewell to Florida

  1. You’re right; children grow up much too fast. It seems like just yesterday I had my last baby and now he is 25!

Leave a Reply

