The white sand calls to me

Dear Readers,

After almost two days of travel by car, from a family gathering in Windsor, I am here in Calini Beach, Siesta Keys, Sarasota, Florida. Barely half an hour after arrival, I could hear the beach, with tropical breezes, white sand and crashing waves, calling to me. Dropping my unpacking half way through, I replaced my jeans with shorts and my socks with sandals, closed the unit door behind me and made my way to the beach. Before I even saw it, I smelled it. The salt air drawing me in, the crashing waves like a loud whisper, beckoning me with a ‘come hither’ tone. For a moment I stood and closed my eyes, feeling the cool sand between my toes, smelling the intoxicating sea air, hearing the sandpipers calling to each other, and the tall seaside grass waving in a high wind.

It was a bit like coming home. Almost as though the ocean and the beach were excited about my return. This vacation is much needed. Since starting my new job, my daughter beginning her first year of school and struggling to get my second book edited and published in a timely manner, I have become weary. Walking by myself along the beach, stepping out of the wave of incoming waves, feeling the strong wind whipping through my hair, I lost myself for a little while. It was such a freeing feeling that I could sense something healing, shifting and releasing in me. I guess I had been under more stress than I originally thought. It was so wonderful to walk along the beach, feel the cool evening air creating goosebumps on my uncovered arms and watch the sun set slowly over the waves like a huge orange ball of fire, slipping silently into the waiting arms of the horizon.

It is late now, and I know if I’m going to be any good for working on my novella, I should go get some sleep. I just had the strongest desire to write down my experiences today. It’s so good to be here. I can hardly wait to begin working on my next project as inspiration strikes. For now though, I must sleep. Goodnight dear readers. Tonight I will dream, and hopefully tomorrow have more to write about.

Until next time, keep dreaming and never give up.

Amy McGuire

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The white sand calls to me

  1. Always good to get away and recover after a long editing Job. Sounds like a divine encounter. Hope you enjoy every minute of it. Don’t even think about us up north getting covered in snow 🙂

  2. Lovely post, Amy! I just finished publishing my first novel, so I could feel your weariness, literally. And you reminded me that I have a beach very near to my house,Laguna, where I could celebrate, by giving myself a much needed “wave day.” Enjoy the peace & creativity the ocean gives you…

    • shesanauthor says:

      Thank you Katherine. Congradulations on your first novel! It’s a great feeling, isn’t it? I hope you get some much needed rest as well and envy you a lovely beach to relax on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

