Book launched. Now it’s time for a much needed vacation.

To all my dear, loyal readers,

A huge apology for not being on here as much as I would like. It has been one crazy month. After realizing there was no way I could work three, nine hour days, raise a daughter and manage to get my novel out by December 12th without a really good edit, I postponed my book to December 23. By the grace of God and with the help of four amazing editors, I met the deadline and then some. It was expected that the paperback version of Worlds Apart would not be available for sale until December 30. Then, on December 26 I received an email informing that it was available for sale on Amazon. Whoo hoo! What an incredible answer to prayer. This whole journey to get my second book ready has been exciting, aggravating, time consuming and at times incredibly discouraging. Yet, I would never trade the outcome for anything. I now have three published books to my name (The Heart’s Discovery, Worlds Apart (sequel to The Heart’s Discovery) and A Tiny Drop of Sunlight (a poetry compilation that I published shortly after The Heart’s Discovery was released in all formats)) and it feels pretty amazing.

As for the aggravating part, on the day I was set to release Worlds Apart in ebook format, there was a huge windstorm in my neighbourhood. I had to redo edits and find my place on multiple occasions when the power went out, but at long last, the novel was published. This year I decided to make my own cover as well, using photographs from various artists (acknowledged at the back of my book) and that took a lot of time. I am very pleased with the result, but hope to have a professional graphic designer give my whole saga a facelift as soon as I have the money to do so. So, that may be a change for next year’s book.

Now that I have completed Worlds Apart and it is up for sale (with one Kindle sale since it’s release, just a few days ago) I am looking forward to a much needed vacation. I am going back to Florida again this year with my husband, our young daughter, my husband’s parents, my husband’s aunts and two female cousins. I can hardly wait for some real rest and relaxation, either by the pool or on the beach or even just on the patio overlooking the amazing Florida beaches. I don’t intend to be fully idle though. I already have a rough sketch ready for filling out on my very first novella entitled, Runaway: Damian’s Story. It is a bit of a spinoff from the saga, but will of course contain a character that many of my readers have asked about since the release of The Heart’s Discovery. I have also gained a few male readers who are interested in knowing what happens to the tortured soul that is Damian Vega. So, I hope to write what I’m calling ‘a book that is 90% action and 10% romance’. We’ll see how it goes, but I’m very eager to write it.

I also owe a large apology to my Twitter fans. I have been unable to do my usual draw for every 25 fans and as a result I will be doing a draw, minus video while I am away on vacation. I will be doing a draw for the second book, Worlds Apart. So stay tuned.

There is good news for those of you who are fans of mine on Facebook. I am only one ‘Like’ away from 200 people who have liked my author page at http://www.facebook.com/authoramymcguire! The most exciting part of this is that I not only will be giving away a copy to two fans, but I will be giving away an ebook copy of both of my books! So two lucky winners of my draw which I will do randomly and post the winners on my blog, will win both of my books. I hope that those who win will also leave a review, and maybe even tell their friends if they really enjoyed my book.

So, I am signing off now. Tomorrow morning I begin my journey on the road to Florida. I will try to blog from time to time to update you on my vacation while I am away. Thank you all for being such amazing, loyal readers. I truly appreciate your feedback and I enjoy knowing that you enjoy reading my story as much as I have enjoyed writing it.

Until later, keep dreaming and never give up!

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book launched. Now it’s time for a much needed vacation.

  1. Have a wonderful vacation, Amy! In HIm, Marriott Cole

Leave a Reply

