Thanksgiving

Posted by shesanauthor@gmail.com on October 8, 2011 at 1:05 PM

It’s Thanksgiving weekend and it’s been a little over a month since my last entry.  I think for now I will be posting blogs at least once per month.  Maybe eventually I will be able to write more often, but for now, I’m happy to post at least monthly.

Yesterday I was walking home in the bright, hot sunshine after buying groceries for the two Thanksgiving meals my family will be sharing. I was awed and amused to discover that in a T-shirt and jeans I was actually sweating as I dragged a wagon heavy with books, groceries and my daughter down the sidewalk for the short journey from the store to our apartment.  The sunshine beat down, the breezes blew and if I closed my eyes, I could almost believe it’s July, not October.  I didn’t  close my eyes and since I kept them open I was able to appreciate the changing colours of all the trees and bushes along the route we usually take.

Some of the trees are still pale yellow green, dark summer green and even vibrant green while others were various shades of gold, yellow, red and orange.  It was facinating seeing the colours and yet feeling July heat.  Today as I waited for the bus with my daughter I was glad I chose to wear a T-shirt and shorts and actually wished for my hat to keep my head cool.  For days now the sky has been a real beautiful, nearly azure blue and my spirit soars with the breezes that fill my lungs with warm autumn air.  Some would say the temperature is all wrong for this of year and we should be having crisp breezes.  I’m not one of those people.  As summer has always been my favourite season, I relish any extra summer-like days we are given.

Now, this post is aptly titled Thanksgiving and not just because it’s Thanksgiving weekend.  I have so much to be thankful for and decided this was the best place and time to write my list.  A lady in the grocery store said a very sweet thing to me that I feel bears repeating.  I had my daughter in the wagon with groceries all around her and the lady joked that she had trouble finding her under all the items I had bought.  Then she said the sweetest thing I have heard in a long time.  She said, “Well, she’s the Thanksgiving blessing.”  So, to start my list, I’m thankful for my sweet little girl who makes me laugh all the time, who has a sweet, sensitive nature and sees the world through innocent, unjaded eyes.  I’m always grateful for the copper coloured hair of my darling little one that reminds me of pumpkins.

I’m thankful for this warm weather that allows me to wear shorts and play outside with my daughter, enjoying the lovely flowers and still very green grass.  I’m thankful for the lovely colours of the maple and oak trees.  I’m thankful for a home on the first floor where it’s very easy to get outside in good weather and back inside quickly in not so good weather.  I’m thankful for strong legs that allow for long walks in the sunshine.  I’m thankful for good eyesight that allows me to appreciate the ever changing colours.  I’m thankful for hearing that allows me to enjoy the sound of the wind in the trees and the birds singing a farewell to the summer that warmed them so well.

I’m thankful for a husband who works full time to provide for our little family so that I can stay home and take care of our daughter as well as pursue my dream of becoming a published author.  I’m thankful for the talent God gave me to be able to write and pursue that dream.  I’m thankful for all the support I’ve had from friends, family and acquaintances over the two years since I started writing books one through three of The Heart’s Five Senses saga.

I’m thankful for so much more and look forward to this coming weekend which reminds me to be grateful.

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Archive from former blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

