On The E-Publishing Journey-The Book Cover

Posted by shesanauthor@gmail.com on December 9, 2011 at 10:35 PM

There’s an old phrase that goes, “Never judge a book by its cover.”  Unfortunately, when it comes to actual books, especially online books, the cover may be all a reader has to go on when deciding if they will read your book or not.  I have spent months agonizing over and researching just the right cover ideas.  I want a professional looking cover that doesn’t cost the earth and I want it to reflect my story without giving too much away.  Then there’s the question of simple versus elaborate.  Some people say, make it as simple as possible.  Maybe one little icon below the title and leave it at that.  Others say why not paint a picture of the story physically as you do in your writing?  I hope that by the time the cover is complete to my satisfaction I will be able to come to a happy medium between the two.  The good news is that I have a few designers and artists to bounce ideas off of and when I have come up with the perfect one, a very talented artist who is willing to make a template for me.

So many ideas, thoughts and dreams have gone into making this book.  Now, even as I rush to the finish line with edits and rewrites, my ideas, thoughts and dreams will be going into the cover too.  I’ll give you a little taste of what I’m thinking without (hopefully) ruining the surprise of the final cover.  I want my cover to reflect British Columbia as well as the innocence of new love.  Although a lot of Young Adult book covers center around people, I want to stay away from that so as not to ‘date’ my book.  I also want to have the chance of someone on in the young adult genre of readers picking up my book because the cover draws them in.

And so, I research.  I compile photos and run ideas past a couple designers.  I hem and haw over the right placement of the words, the pictures and the ratio of one to the other.

So, wish me luck as I embark on yet another leg of my journey.  It’s going to be bumpy, but hopefully when I arrive on the other side, a fantastic new cover will have been created.

Until next time,

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Archive from former blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

