On The E-Publishing Journey-Pricing My Books

Posted by shesanauthor@gmail.com on November 14, 2011 at 9:50 PM

This has been quite a journey, seeking publishing and eventually coming to the conclusion that I want to ‘go it alone’ in the sense that I am now working on epublishing my books.  For anyone who is new to the field of ebooks, essentially what I will be doing is putting my books out there in digital copy for anyone who wants to buy them and read them on the various electronic readers out there, not the least being eReader and Kindle.

This was not a decision I made without much thought and research.  Some may say this is giving up on a dream.  If that dream is to be published by a top publishing house in New York, then maybe.  Though, after much research and speaking with other authors who have gone the self-publishing route, that is not necessarily the case.  Time does not permit right now to explain but suffice to say, I am not throwing away a dream, but instead helping make that dream a reality.

You see, my big dream is to become an author and share my stories with others.  If I can someday be traditionally published, that would be wonderful.  For now, I have decided that keeping my rights to the books I have written is important and I have the know-how to get my work out there, so why not?  Many writers may cringe at that sentence.  Sorry.  I don’t always write smoothly and fluidly in my ramblings.  My books are much smoother.  But then, that’s what editing software and editors are for, right?  And of course, hours of my own hard work, going over every little detail with a fine tooth comb.

So, this blog is about finding the right price for my ebook.  Well, I haven’t found it yet, but I have certainly learned a lot about the diversity between ebooks.  It’s not easy to pick out the best price for your book.  Fortunately, I have a lot of people who I can go to for advice, not just on pricing, but on all stages of my book.  I am truly blessed to live in the age of the internet where I can go to any number of groups of people with more knowledge in this field who are willing to share.  I’m also blessed to have so many dear friends who support me and have been encouraging me to this point and beyond.

This is the first in my series on the e-publishing journey.  Hopefully I’ll have a few insights as I continue on this journey that I can share with you all.  At the end of the journey I will have a book available for purchase.  I hope you enjoy the trip with me.

Until next time, hold onto your dreams and never give up.

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Archive from former blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

