On The E-Publishing Journey-Marketing

Posted by shesanauthor@gmail.com on March 19, 2012 at 2:10 PM

Hello everyone!  Been a little while since my last post, I know.  I’ve been busy with marketing my most recent book, The Heart’s Discovery, which you can find both in my bookstore and on Amazon.com.  I’ve been learning so much about ebook marketing, how to reach a wide audience, how to get reviews and interviews, the value of networking and so much more.  Tonight I have something exciting to look forward to.  I will be on Jason Matthew’s Google On Air hangout with several other indie authors discussing formatting.  When I have the link, I will come back and put it in this post, so stay tuned.  For those who are unable to join me at the live hangout tonight from 9-10 PST the podcast will be recorded and you can return and watch it as often as you like.  This particular hangout started last Monday but due to unforeseen circumstances I was unable to be a part of it.  So, I’m really, really excited.

The next big news is that I have a few reviews coming up (so watch Amazon when you buy my book there or just stop over to read my brand new author page) as well two blog interviews, one on April 2nd and the other later in April or May.  I am also in talks with a proofreader who I help will bring my book from a 3-4 star rating on Amazon up to a 5 star rating.  My book is listed at about 300,000 out of a million, which I guess isn’t horrible, but the higher it is on the list, the more chance of people seeing it.  And buying it.  I hope.

On my journey I have also learned how to created ‘signed’ ebooks, so if you bought my book off Amazon this month, please let me know and I will gladly send you a signed copy in epub or pdf format.  I have been having difficulty with the formatting and mobi making a mess of my cover page, so I am not offering this particular format, although I understand pdf works just as well on the Kindle.

As a part of my marketing campaign I hope to start up a bit of a blog tour and as I do, I will let all my readers know the dates and post the links in my blog for easy searching and reading.

There are a lot of sites designed for writers, self publishers, indie authors and excited hopefuls to become the best in their profession and I have been taking advantage of as many as I can.  There is so much to learn, but it’s also an exciting time for me.  The networking, new friends, mentors, suggestions and advice I have gained through all this and continue to gain, is priceless.  If I could make a career out of writing and networking my books, I would definitely be fulfilling a dream.

The weather has been very cooperative for sitting on my deck and working too.  I don’t want to jinx anything, but I think Spring will definitely be here in the next couple days and stay for a good long time.  So far it’s been wonderfully warm and I can’t wait to get out and reseed my lawn in my new home as well as plant my new flower garden.

Until later, never give up and dream big!

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Archive from former blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

