A crazy, fun summer

Posted by shesanauthor@gmail.com on September 4, 2011 at 8:55 PM

It’s hard to believe tomorrow is Labour Day.  Although it’s hardly the official first day of fall, it does symbolize the end of summer for many people, students especially.  I have trouble wrapping my mind around the idea that my daughter will be one of them for the first time ever this time next year.  I know everyone says it, but I really do wonder, where did the time go?  It really does seem like only yesterday I was bringing my beautiful baby girl home from the hospital, then watching her sleep and wondering when she would wake up so I could get to know her.  Now she’s nearly three and a half and I spent most evenings wondering when she’ll fall asleep so I can have some time to myself.

Time does get away from us though, which is why I think it’s important to document things like summer vacation and all the precious moments in our lives while we still have the memories.  So, this post is about basically recording this summer and the precious moments contained within.  I will also of course be mentioning what I’ve been doing with my books and all that entails.   I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I have enjoyed experiencing it and writing about it.

I’m not one hundred percent sure when this summer truly started, but the first real memory I have is the family trip I took with my husband and daughter down to New York State to the camp my husband has attended and eventually ended working as senior staff at since he was twelve.  It was a wonderful two weeks.  While I helped out in the kitchen my daughter played outside, either by herself or with any of the campers who were available and together we enjoyed a busy but relaxing two weeks.

Great memories I will take away from those two weeks are: taking my daughter to the Midway and watching her get on the car kiddie ride four times and the boats twice, then take a train ride all around the park by herself, watching her feed a whole flock of baby ducks and seeing and hearing the excitement as they came right up and practically took the bread out of her hands, playing volleyball with the counselors one night and laser tag another night and having a nice evening out with my husband while a dear friend watched our daughter for us.

Another great event was the few days we spent with my mother and the day we went to the beach.  The water was warm and clear so we spent the whole afternoon collecting stones from the bottom and splashing around in the waves.

The trip to the zoo with my sister and her three kids was one of the amazing times that I’m glad I got on film, so to speak.  My daughter, sister and all the cousins went to the zoo where I met my friend and her oldest son and we just wandered around for a few hours.  The best parts of the trip were the African Penguins exhibit and the Zoomobile with one hilarious guide.  We were passing the giraffes and he pointed out a ground hog running through the exhibit.  He had us in stitches the whole time but the one line I remember the best was, “There’s a ground hog!  Yeah, there’s some giraffes there too, but we don’t care about them.  It’s a ground hog!”  I have taken a lot of Zoomobile trips since getting a membership a couple years ago, but the one I went on this summer was by far the most amusing and memorable.

In late August my daughter, my parents in-law and I went to my husband’s uncle’s cottage for a week and I had so much fun watching my little one fully enjoying nature.  Every day we fed the ‘chippies’ peanuts and watched the bird feeder for new birds.  There were a few days that were cool so we spent them wandering around Bracebridge and one day was spent in Port Carling looking into all the shops and checking out the boat locks.  The warm days were spent either on the paddleboat or the powerboat looking for loons, puttering around in the water near the dock or (in my case) taking a trip around the lake in a kayak.  It was so nice to be out in nature, enjoying sunsets, the starry skies and crackling campfires.  My daughter especially seemed to enjoy the hot dog roast and marshmallow roasts after dark.

Her favourite part, I think was making marshmallows for everyone else.  I made her some cooked hot dogs on the fire and lost two in the ashes but she was a real good sport about the whole thing.  One of my favourite memories of that week was the last night, lying on the dock holding my little girl’s hand while we looked up at an incredible starlit sky.  I think the other was splashing around in the really shallow, warm water of Lake Muskoka and watching my daughter lose her fear of water.  She ran around to the point of falling in face first a few times, got back up, laughed and went right on playing.  It was wonderful.

There are a lot of other memories that would take a lot of time to document, but I would like to close with one that happened just today.  One I will cherish forever and wish I had had my camera on me to capture.  I was working on laundry and found one of my lace tablecloths.  As a joke I wrapped it around my head and hammed it up, calling it a veil.  My daughter wanted to try it on, so I put it on her head and she looked so cute I wanted to share with my husband.  So, I said, “Go show Daddy.”  So she did, and then I hear, “Dance with me, Daddy!”  Well, I scooted over to where I could watch but not be seen and saw her twirling around with the table cloth wrapped around herself and then my husband stood.  He took her little hands in his and for about ten minutes they danced around the floor.  It was such a precious moment and I hope I’ll remember it when it’s her real wedding day.  There are just some moments that defy description and warm the heart at the same time.  This was one of those really sweet moments and when they stopped dancing, I clapped.  So lovely.

While I was at the cottage, I spent every night editing my book and now am very close to completion.  The next step will be the proposals and sending it out to agents again.  One big goal for me is to get it ready to send in to the Romance Writers Association Golden Heart Contest on September 21st.  If I win it, it will be one accolade I can put on my book and even something that will make a publisher take notice.  So, this is my goal for now.  I changed a lot of things that didn’t quite sit well with me in my book and learned more about my characters as I wrote.

When I needed a break from editing I found another story, adult romantic fiction this time, blooming in my head.  It’s in the rough stages right now, but I look forward to continuing work on it when I have the first book in my teen-adult saga complete and working towards publishing.  I have discovered a lot more story ideas as I’ve been working on in my saga but the recent book (with a twist you won’t see coming ;)) is something I never would have thought of.  It just hit me and I played around with a few ideas, but it always came down to the same storyline.  So, we’ll see how it plays out when I get the time to sit down and really flesh it out.

So, that’s my summer in a nutshell and where I am with my book right now.  Sorry, no real spoilers this time.  When the books are for sale though, I promise to have a lot of ‘the making of’ blogs.

For now, I’m gonna sign off as it’s been a long, tiring week since we got home.  Until next time.

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Archive from former blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

