Halloween Howling

Yep.  I’ve wanted to howl quite a bit the last few days.  Not that’s it’s been all bad.  In fact, having a part time job that I love has been wonderful.  It’s just, I felt the need to vent a little this evening.  So, here goes.  First up, I thought that it would be a great idea (well, hubby thought so and suggested it) to use Google Docs to save my current WIP (work in progress) so that I could work on it at work while I’m taking my breaks.  So I did so, and even watched it autosave, figuring that all the work I’d put in would be accessible when I returned home.  Nope.  It refused to open the new document and all I could do was download the original.  So I lost about ten to twenty minutes trying to remember my edits and implementing them on my hard drive.  Howl #1.
Shortly after getting my new job as a dental receptionist, I discovered that the majority of the clothes I wore as a receptionist over four years ago don’t fit anymore.  In desperation, I turned to a diet that my mother in-law assured me will help me lose weight fast.  She and I started the diet together on Monday and by the end of the day I was ready to gnaw my own arm off from hunger.  Howl #2.

The same day I started the diet (which required tea at breakfast and lunch but didn’t specify caffeinated or caffeine-free) I had a major migraine by about 2:30 in the afternoon and had to call my husband to pick our daughter up from school because I could barely move.  Later I discovered that my body wasn’t used to that much caffeine and basically rebelled.  Howl #3.

Today I weighed myself, thinking that I would see the same success I did yesterday when I found I had lost a whole kilogram on the diet the day before.  I nearly cried when I discovered that not only had I not lost anymore weight, but I had gained back 0.6kg!  Howl #4.

Yesterday after school I took my daughter to the mall to try and find supplies to make her costume (she wants to be a pink crayon) and when we looked around the mall, none of the things I figured I would need were there.  So I substituded a pink shower curtain liner, construction paper and tape from the dollar store for pink bristleboard, marker and staples.  This began my nightmare of costume making. Howl #5.

Today, after getting my house cleaned and organized, I decided to tackle the costume making.  Augh!  You would not believe how hard it is to manipulate construction paper and a shower curtain.  And of course, trying to fit it on a wiggling four-year-old who just wants to watch the TV while you’re trying to fit her.  I ended up cutting the curtain too short, having to sew the construction paper directly onto the curtain and sew the curtain closed around the arms as well as tight around her middle to make up for all the extra material I had not counted on in my original assessment of said pink curtain liner.  Howl #6.

Well, I guess that’s all for now.  Hope you enjoyed my rant. 🙂  Actually, despite the fact that my daughter will most likely be only wearing her costume for the party during the day and then I’ll have to borrow a costume from a friend because the snack and paint she will have gotten on it from school, I’m excited about Halloween and going trick or treating with my daughter.

Even though the squirrels mistook my jack-o-latern for an all-you-can-eat buffet and I had to hide it behind my daughter’s wagon near the front door where there’s heavier traffic and the little beasts won’t find it, as well as the older kids who like to smash pumpkins and would love to get their hands on ours.

And even though they’re predicting snow on Wednesday, which means her costume will probably be hidden under a coat and scarf and hat anyway.

And in spite of the fact that I may have nightmares of trying to make a simple piece of construction paper look like a cone.  As it is, the top of the costume makes it look more like she’s wearing a marker costume masquerading as a crayon costume.  Or maybe she’s a pink chef.  That bakes crayons.

Well, gotta run.  The men in white coats are coming to show me to my comfy padded room.   😀

Until next time,  keep dreaming and never give up!

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Halloween Howling

  1. sounds.. erm…. well, slightly horrific, LOL!

  2. I love it – all the howling. Yeah, I don’t do caffeine at all for the same reason. Sounds like a horrific time.

Leave a Reply

