The Frustrations of Website Hosting

Hello to all my loyal readers, friends and family. It’s been a long time since I last posted. Way too long, I know. The main reason I’ve been silent has been a struggle with my new website host. My previous host, though amazing with their customer service, had no idea how to be competitive. They were also more than a bit sneaky. When I signed on with them, my site hosting cost almost $100 and while I wasn’t thrilled with that, I decided I would stick with it, since, again, their customer service, support etc were so helpful and it was an easy site to use. Then, at the end of September they wanted to charge me two and a half time as much to stay with them. My new host was offering a year with all the same bells and whistles for less than $70. No brainer. Or, so I thought. You see, that’s when the technological nightmare began. First, my previous host took the money out of my account without my permission. Fortunately for me, their customer service was still in effect, so within about a week and a half I received a refund for the full amount and my site was moved to ‘free’, which basically meant that all the bells and whistles were gone and I was no longer hosted on the ‘paid’ side of their site and thus, all my extra pages were moved into unintelligable tabs and I had to tell everyone that my site was down. If you go to my site now, you will get the first page, so you know I’m still around, but it’s going to be awhile before all the glitches are worked out. Nightmare and frustration. There’s a lot of technical stuff I had to do to get to where I am, and a lot of things I still don’t understand, but suffice it to say, until everything is sorted out, this is where all new updates on my book and other such stuff will be posted. More to come. I promise. 🙂

Until then, keep dreaming and never give up!

About Author Amy McGuire

Author of The Heart's Discovery, a YA Romance novel set mostly in British Columbia with a brief foray into Quito, Ecuador. Also the mother of a bubbly second grade redhead who adores turquoise, and wife to a very patient man. She lives in Toronto, the inspiration for so many of her place names and characters.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Frustrations of Website Hosting

  1. Ian Dewar says:

    Excellent Blog Amy… I’ll most definately be back!!

Leave a Reply

